The Paul Street Report
The Paul Street Report Podcast
Some Old Time Rock & Roll
12
0:00
-2:20

Some Old Time Rock & Roll

And Two Announcements
12
Transcript

No transcript...

1. Tomorrow I will put up the first installment in a three-part TPSR defense of Bob Avakian and the Revolutionary Communist Party (RCP, USA, the Revcoms) against vicious, inane, and neo-McCathyite left attacks against them — attacks that have been sent to me in the last couple of years. Read it, you might learn something.

2.  The Paul Street Report has officially nominated my family’s border collie-pit mix Oreo (below) as North America’s Dog of the Month for January 2024.  I wanted to make this nomination earlier but decided to wait until her shots were updated and she was fully licensed in North America.  Her documentation, tags, and passport are in the file in this recent photo:

(A FOIA request has just been made for Oreo’s FBI file.)

In the meantime, here in this “podcast” are a couple minutes or so of me recently pounding on an old acoustic piano in a deeply flawed but fun (for me anyway) imitation of 1950s rock and roll. I’m not super-excited about it but I kind of dig the soloing that “just happened” at 1:14-1:30. The left hand is literally the first thing you learn when you are eight years old and your teacher (Mrs. Oppenheimer in my case) takes a break from the boring Hanon finger exercise book and gives you a “boogie-woogie” tune to learn. :)

The great piano pounding wild man of early rock and roll Jerry Lee Lewis.

Thank you, Mrs. Oppenheimer.

12 Comments
The Paul Street Report
The Paul Street Report Podcast
Radical reflections on past and present