The Paul Street Report
The Paul Street Report Podcast
Singing the Blues
4
0:00
-4:31

Singing the Blues

& Thinking of Blind Willie McTell
4

I feel like putting this up was justified.

I’m okay with the short blues opening but actually like the shortened Blind Willie McTell (a Bob Dylan tune, of course) version I did. It’s unusual for me to really like some of the music I do here so give the second tune a listen. Listen to the end.

I’m going to try to take a weekend off political commentary…good luck, right?

There’s a new outrage every hour it seems.

This morning I learned from N“P”R that the unmentionably capitalogenic climate catastrophe (1) wiped out a major damn, killing thousands in Nigeria; (2) is baking indigenous communities to death in the Amazon basin; (3) caused a wild and unprecedented seismic shock that registered across the entire planet last year. On (3), get this: it happened cuz fossil-capitalist global warming melted a glacier holding up a mountain in Greenland. The mountain’s collapse created a landslide that created a tsunami with 200-foot high waves in seas commonly visited by tour ships. That’s a Viking Cruise you don’t want to take!

Oh, but never mind. After soothing music we learned about a spunky Chicago woman who rode her bicycle around the entire planet and learned more about the parasitic billionaire who took a spacewalk in a cool space suit the other day — as part of his effort to advance “private sector space commerce.”

My lovely pit-border collie Oreo will not live long enough to suffer the full consequences of the environmental disaster our great imperial capitalists have cooked up. I wish I could say the same about the many young children Oreo has been entertaining in the South Loop the last few weeks. If the billionaires think they can flee to other planets and galaxies from the mess their anarchic and soulless system made they’ve got another thing coming.

In the meantime we have the blues.

Discussion about this podcast