The Paul Street Report
The Paul Street Report Podcast
On Yesterday's January 6 Indictments
0:00
-30:05

On Yesterday's January 6 Indictments

If They Can't Put This Fascist Dog Down. for the Shit it Pulled. in 2020-21....

These are some opening thoughts from me on yesterday’s historic indictments. As usual, I am trying to bring some historical (-materialist) context, perspective, and meaning to current events. I woke up this morning and just picked my phone and started talking into it and this is the result. Later today I will write up a more formal reflection criticizing all the liberal talk I am hearing about how “the system is working” (for the people). The (or a) piece missing in this half hour slow-talk (this is the closest I have ever come to sounding like current-day Chomsky…it’s seven in the morning and my voice is a little hoarse and I’m going really slow, which might be good for listener comprehension) is any reference to the need for thousands and then millions of people to stand up en masse and say “you’ll have to go through us to build a fascist Amerika.” The belief that mass mobilization and activism on the part of those who refuse to accept a fascist Amerika, and not merely bourgeois-D/democratic electoralism and legalism, is what is most truly and urgently required to stop US fascisation is at the heart of the mission of Refuse Fascism, on whose editorial board I sit. Given the political urgency of all this, this talk is free of subscription charge.

0 Comments
The Paul Street Report
The Paul Street Report Podcast
Radical reflections on past and present