The Paul Street Report
The Paul Street Report Podcast
Masters of War
9
0:00
-3:24

Masters of War

9

I know that with my amateur sound set up the quality is poor on a phone and a bit better on most PCs and that the words tend to get crowded out by the clangy sound of the electric piano.

The passages sung here:

Come you masters of war/you that build the big guns/you build the death planes/you build all the bombs/you hide behind walls/you hide behind desks/I want you to know/I can see through your masks

Like a Judas of old/you lie and deceive/world war can be won/you want me to believe/but I see through your eyes/like I see through your brain/like I see through the water that’s running down my drain.

You fasten the triggers/for the others to fire/you sit back and watch/while the death count gets hire/you hide in your mansions/while young folks blood/flows out of their bodies and gets buried in the mud

Let me ask you one question/is your money that good/will it bring you forgiveness/do you think it could/I think you will find/when your death takes its toll/all the money you made will never buy back your soul

I hope you die/and your death will come soon/I’ll follow your casket/on a pale afternoon/I’ll watch while you’re lowered/down to your death bed/stand over your body/until I’m sure you’re dead

Recent New York Times headline: ‘Troop Deaths and Injuries in Ukraine War Near 500,000, U.S. Officials Say: Ukraine and Russia have lost a staggering number of troops as Kyiv’s counteroffensive drags on. A lack of rapid medical care has added to the toll.’

9 Comments
The Paul Street Report
The Paul Street Report Podcast
Radical reflections on past and present