The Paul Street Report
The Paul Street Report Podcast
Interesting (?) Version of Fortunate Son
11
0:00
-3:06

Interesting (?) Version of Fortunate Son

On a Clanky Old Acoustic Piano West of the Mississippi River
11

For fun and continuing in my series of class conscious working class music….

I guess I thought this “worked.” I could definitely be wrong about that.

For you music people, what’s was sort of fun here is not just the tempo change but also sitting on the one chord and saving the three chord pattern for the chorus.

(The real CCR version just goes up and down the three chords from beginning until end. And of course they had cool stuff like drums, electric guitars, and a real vocalist. LOL.)

In my experience you can forget about listening to these things on your phone.

Lyrics:

Some folks are born made to wave the flag
Hoo, they're red, white and blue
And when the band plays "Hail to the chief"
Ooh, they point the cannon at you, Lord

It ain't me, it ain't me
I ain't no senator's son, son
It ain't me, it ain't me
I ain't no furtunate one, no

Some folks are born silver spoon in hand
Lord, don't they help themselves, Lord?
But when the taxman come to the door
Lord, the house lookin' like a rummage sale, yeah

It ain't me, it ain't me
I ain't no millionaire's son, no, no
It ain't me, it ain't me
I ain't no fortunate one, no

Yeah-yeah, some folks inherit star-spangled eyes
Hoo, they send you down to war, Lord
And when you ask 'em, "How much should we give?"
Hoo, they only answer, "More, more, more, more"

It ain't me, it ain't me
I ain't no military son, son, Lord
It ain't me, it ain't me
I ain't no fortunate one, one

It ain't me, it ain't me
I ain't no fortunate one, no, no, no
It ain't me, it ain't me
I ain't no fortunate son, no, no, no
It ain't me, it ain't me...

Discussion about this podcast

The Paul Street Report
The Paul Street Report Podcast
Radical reflections on past and present